Frederick Douglass

Reading Narrative Life of Frederick Douglass, an American Slave made me occasionally feel like I was reading a true fiction novel. This is actually Frederick Douglass’ autobiography.

I don’t think there is much I can say to ever give justice to the book so I would simply like to recommend this book. One thing I can say is that the story certainly makes one question the sanity of human beings. When thinking of that I cannot help but feel that people are truly so easy to manipulate. They too easily forget or bury the voice of reason and consciousness within. Instead of listening to their heart’s guidance in right and wrong they listen to something or someone corrupt.

And if looking at the times around us, like just today’s news about the Connecticut elementary school shooting — it does not seem like the times have changed much. I hope we will all grow up as soon as possible.

Leave a Reply

