Ohm: Frequency of Resistance

LISTEN HERE BECAUSE I HAVE NO IDEA OF HOW TO PROPERLY EMBED THE PLAYER IN THIS F#CKING FORMAT.

I don’t often listen to Techno and House but when I do, I listen to Ohm: Frequency of Resistance (see what they did there?). The main reason being that these guys, a group of friends based in Poperinge/Kortrijk (Belgium) just manage to pick out the best tunes every week again. They have a perfect balance between music (lots) and conversation (few enough) and every time I realize that I’ve always had built up a wrong image of the genre. Mostly because of what we in Belgium often call ‘Johnnies’, the chav guys who are often into the genre. Maybe that’s just me though.

The guys invite guests over to play records and for interviews. I have to warn you: these interviews are in a peculiar dialect of Flemish Dutch so for most people reading this blog it’ll be not much more than gibberish but the music usually keeps playing and the spoken parts are few enough not to lose the groove.

Ohm airs a new two hour show live every Thursday between nine and eleven pm here and the mixes are kept online on mixcloud, for those who don’t know and are into electronic music: this is a good platform to find extended mixes of deejays of all sorts.

Last but not least they throw parties as well, with successful results I’ve heard. They seem to be focused around West-Flanders, very close to the French border – or on it if I remember my geography correctly. It might stand out that this post is longer than I usually write them but for my English class I will post 250 word posts every two weeks about something concerning the music industry. Anyway, enjoy Ohm!

K

Leave a Reply

