A. KAURISMÄKI

I am free a last! My final essay received it’s final dot a while ago (if not to count the editing awaiting it). STILL, I have no more assignments to submit but only catch up on the readings (a fact that is dreadful to think of). Anyhow, for my other assignment I had to view two films which are worth sharing.

La Vie de Bohème (1992) and Le Havre (2011). Both directed by Aki Kaurismäki somewhat ten years apart. A mini-spoiler would be to say that I found it a nice surprise when I noticed that the character of Marcel appears in both films although otherwise they are not related. However, even after one watch it is easy to spot Kaurismäki’s style, which for now I can describe only as interesting (in a positive way) and accompanied with a bizarre humor (which personally makes me feel like I’m not sure if I should laugh or not).

Anyhow, they are both a great watch and well under two hours. I really don’t know what else to say because I only have compliments to give for both films, thus check the trailer for Le Havre and dive into the film!

Leave a Reply

